Home / Other States / Ogun Labour Party elects new executive

Ogun Labour Party elects new executive

Labour Party

The Ogun LP congress was uneventful.

The Ogun State Chapter of Labour Party, LP, on Wednesday elected new executive members at a State Congress held in Abeokuta. The new leaders of the party are to run the affairs for the next three years.

At the congress held at the Centenary Hall in Abeokuta, delegates at ward and local government levels converged to elect the new executive council members in line with the directives of the National Working Committee of the party.

The exercise, witnessed by thousands of party supporters from across the state, was observed by the required agencies including Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, the State Security Service, SSS, as well as officers of the Nigeria Police.

The congress was generally peaceful and started with the registration of delegates at about 10 a.m. It was presided by the National Deputy Chairman of the Labour Party, Joseph Akinlaja.

Mr. Akinlaja, a member of the House of Representatives, in his address to the party faithful said he was sure of the Labour Party’s victory in the forthcoming polls going by the wide
acceptance of the party by all people across the State. He said the congress had been successful.

In his valedictory speech, the Acting Chairman of the Labour Party in Ogun State, John Laleye, thanked the national leadership of the Party for giving him the opportunity to serve; while also charging those who will take over the mantle of leadership in the state to be resolute in
their resolve to sack the present administration in the state come 2015.

Mr. Laleye handed over to Niyi Osoba, the newly elected Chairman of the Ogun LP, who is also a former Chairman of the Ogun State chapter of the Nigerian Labour Congress, NLC.

Other members of the new leadership include six deputies: Nuru Olaleye, Wasiu Agbetokun, Aderopo M., John Laleye, Samson Okusanya and Rafatu Sanni.

Others are Dapo Adeyemi (Secretary), Fatai Yinusa (Financial Secretary), Deji Kalejaye (Public Relations Officer), Gboyega Okenla (Legal Adviser), Kelani Orisatolu (Auditor), Mujidat Ogunnaike(Women Leader), Omolola Soyombo, Bosipo and Basirat Adeyemi (Deputy Women Leaders), Bankole Oyebode (State Youth Leader), to be assisted by Tope Obadina, Layiwola Sobanjo, S. O. Ayeni; and Michael Adegbola (organising secretary).

Culled from :Here

About admin

Check Also

Osun-Osogbo festival: Global blend of cultures, tourism, commerce

The Ataoja of Osogbo, Oba Olanipekun and his wives at the festival Once again, Osogbo, …

JAMB to build 5000-capacity CBT centre in Ogun

Samuel Awoyinfa, Abeokuta The Registrar of the Joint Admissions Matriculation Board, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, has …

Why I pray for women naked, shave their pubic hair – Pastor …

Pastor Matthew Olakunle of the Christ Apostolic Church, Oke Itura in Iju town, Akure North …

Ondo APC hails Buhari’s commitment to united, indivisible Nigeria

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo State has commended President Muhammadu Buhari for his …

Please support Oyo State Latest News
By clicking any of these buttons you help our site to get better